Fines, jail time, a suspended or revoked licence – do you know what you REALLY risk when driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol? While laws may vary from state to state, the 50 agree that the legal blood alcohol limit (BAC) applies. No matter where you drive, if you are stopped with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, you will be in big trouble. And there`s no acceptable blood alcohol limit if you`re under 21. If you strictly adhere to the penalty involved, Georgia could be considered the strictest drinking and driving law in America. Your nightmare begins with 10 days of minimum detention and the loss of your licence for an entire year. Financially, your situation will be much worse after a conviction. Fines and fees (for alcohol education, etc.) can be as high as $1,500. Repeat offenders face up to 90 days in jail and could lose their driver`s license for three years. MADD awarded each state a half-star, a star or no star for each of the five criteria. States ranged from 0.5 to 5.0. The average score was 3.16. Montana came in last with only 0.50 stars.
The state gained half a point for its child endangerment laws. Maryland is also on the MADD list of states with the strictest impaired driving laws, a respectable 4.5. For a first offence, drivers are liable to a fine of $1,000 and imprisonment for up to one year. You also get 12 points on your licence, which can be revoked for up to six months. California`s drunk driving laws aren`t very strict, but fines will hit you hard. For a first offence, you pay not only a fine of $390, but also special drunk driving ratings of about $1,800. Arizona`s DUI laws are the strictest in the country, according to WalletHub`s analysis. It ranks first for criminal sanctions and second for prevention. A look at Oklahoma`s brutal drink-driving laws shows how seriously lawmakers take this offense.
First-time visitors go to jail for 10 days, making it the hardest in books in America. The state also suspends your license for 180 days (unmatched in the U.S.) and charges you more than $500 in fines before you consider court fees or get your car back from the pound. Repeat offenders will receive an automatic crime on their record, and your first offence will weigh on you for 10 years. Impaired driving, commonly known as drunk driving, is a crime that everyone wants to avoid on the road. It doesn`t matter when drunk driving became illegal. Field sobriety tests are enough to become a nightmare. You`ll be surprised how strict other countries are when it comes to drunk driving. Read and learn about some of the drunk driving laws in the world and which country has the strictest drunk driving laws. Arizona is the state with the strictest drinking and driving laws and the only one to receive a perfect 5.0-star rating. Arizona`s strict laws include mandatory ignition interlock devices for all drunk driving convictions. Having a child in the vehicle when stopped for drunk driving is also considered a crime in Arizona. Almost all of a state`s drunk driving laws define intoxication as a blood alcohol level of 0.08.
That means about three glasses for someone who weighs 140 pounds, or four glasses for someone who weighs 190 pounds. Gender and elapsed time also affect blood alcohol levels – to get a clearer idea of what “intoxicated” means to you, you can use a blood alcohol calculator. When did impaired driving become illegal? No one knows for sure, but it`s hard to decide which country has the strictest laws for drunk driving. Drunk driving is a crime that is taken seriously not only abroad, but also in the United States. If you or your loved ones have been convicted of impaired driving in Arizona, contact local attorneys to discuss how to help you and settle payments. If you`re not from Arizona, it`s essential to know what happens to your driver`s license after violating drinking and driving laws. Penalties for driving under the influence can be costly in any state, but some state penalties will hurt you far more than others. Find out which drunk driving laws are the strictest in the U.S.
Certainly, there are U.S. states (including Ohio and North Dakota) where a drunk driving offense may not affect your life as much. However, there are many places where a conviction for drunk driving could practically ruin you. Let`s take a quick look at the 15 states with the strictest drink-driving laws in America. Using a points-based system, the researchers developed a ranking that shows a list of the strictest and most tolerant states toward DUI violations. Time of imprisonment: The minimum prison sentence for offenders who commit a first offence while intoxicated is generally quite short, ranging from one to five days. However, Arizona and Georgia`s drunk driving laws require a minimum sentence of 10 days for the first offense. Second offenders spend at least 180 days in the West Virginia jail, which has the longest minimum sentence for a second drunk driving offense.
Most states also have drink-driving laws that impose harsher penalties for high blood alcohol levels — typically about double the legal limit, or 0.15-0.16. Some states set the limit at 0.20. The exception is New Jersey, which considers the blood alcohol level of the increased penalty to be 0.10. This means that just one extra drink can take you from a little below the legal intoxication limit to more than the increased penalty limit, meaning hefty fines, loss of your licence for up to a year, and a possible jail time. In fact, Arizona is known for its toughest laws and penalties for drunk driving, including lengthy prison sentences. If you are a minor, driving with a small amount of alcohol in your blood means that you will be burdened by drunk driving. Most states set the minor blood alcohol level as “zero tolerance” at 0.02, but some states consider any trace of alcohol to be the cause of a DUI. The states with the strictest drink-driving laws for underage drinkers are Alaska, Arizona, Illinois, Maine, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon and Washington DC. There is one thing on which all states agree: drunk driving is wrong. Other than that, however, they don`t focus on much. Each state has different drunk driving laws that govern fines, jail time, penalties, and what “drunk” actually means.
Today, drunk driving laws vary greatly from state to state. Some states, such as Utah and Arizona, lead the country in strict drunk driving laws. Like North Dakota and Montana, other states appear to have serious drunk driving problems, likely the result of more lenient drink-driving laws. Below, we`ve categorized states into several categories: most drunk drivers, most popular impaired drivers, lowest blood alcohol threshold, most severe jail time, and number of crashes involving impaired drivers. We also looked at MADD`s annual assessments for the state`s best and worst laws. Click here to see our free downloadable infographic illustrating these results. The infographic shows that Arizona is the state with the strictest drinking and driving laws in the United States with an overall score of 84.09%. Here is a list of the strictest drunk driving laws in the entire country. In addition to physical danger, you could injure yourself financially and professionally with a drunk driving offence.
According to a 2017 study by WalletHub, the strictest states in the country can give you 180 days in jail and a conviction for a second offense. In the meantime, you won`t have a driver`s license for six months or more. If that`s not enough for you, don`t forget about the fines you owe, your higher insurance rates, and the risk of losing your job. The second strictest state in terms of drinking and driving laws is Georgia with an overall score of 70.45%, and the Georgian authorities seem proud of the progress they have made in this area.